top of page

Durga Puja Edit 2022

Updated: Oct 28, 2022

Durga Puja is one of the most beautiful and important festival of India that showcases the beautiful Bengali Culture. Durga Puja is an essence of Kolkata, which celebrates the homecoming of Maa Durga.

This Durga Puja, we invite you all to adorn this immense beauty with the Durga Puja collection of Geetanjali. A saree for each day, a saree for each emotion.

Introducing to you, 9 Avatars of Maa Durga:

1. Shailaputri

2. Brahmacharini

3. Chandraghanta

4. Kushmanda

5. Skandamata

6. Katyayani

7. Kalaratri

8. Mahagauri.

9. Siddhidhatri

The significance of the first day is to adore Goddess Shailaputri. She is a form of Parvati, holding the significance of ‘shaila’, meaning extraordinary. Often Goddess Shailaputri is worshipped to reach a high state of consciousness. Honour yourself as ‘shaila,’ wear Shailaputri with Geetanjali.

The significance of second day is to adore Goddess Brahmacharini. She is a form of Parvati, in which she went through extreme penance. This day becomes sacred to meditate, signifying ‘Brahma’- divine consciousness and ‘achar’- behaviour. Flaunt beauty of purity with Brahmacharini.

The significance of third day is to adore Goddess Chandraghanta. This form of Goddess Durga symbolises ‘shakti.’ And ‘Chandra’ which stands for the moon, represents the mind; signifying supreme bliss through knowledge, and emotional balance of Goddess Chandraghanta. Awaken your strengths, awaken your mind, awaken Chandraghanta with Geetanjali.

The significance of fourth day is to adore Goddess Kushmanda. Her name signifies the creation of the cosmic universe from a divine egg. Experience your cosmic energy, experience divinity with Kushmanda.

The significance of fifth day is to adore Goddess Skandmata. She represents motherly affection. Often worshipping Goddess Skandmata is said to bring wisdom, wealth, power, and prosperity. Experience the warmth of Love and Affection with Skandmata.

The significance of sixth day is to adore Goddess Katyayani. She is an incarnation of Maa Durga, shown to exhibit courage and known as the warrior goddess, she is considered one of the most violent forms of Devi. Infinite courage, Intense passion and Love are the attributes to associate yourself with Katyayani.